One of the main areas of this research project is the cemetery at
New Hall, and its links with the wider history of the English
Canonesses. Tucked away in the corner of the extensive grounds of
the school, the cemetery has been in continuous use by the
Community since their arrival at New Hall in 1799. Members of the
Community arrived at New Hall in stages, between 25 January and 3
March 1799, but were fully reunited as a community at their new
home by the latter date.
Two members of the Community were buried in the cemetery within a few months of settlement at New Hall, and the cemetery has been in use by the Community ever since. There are now approximately 320 people buried at the cemetery, and as well as members of the Community who have died since 1799, the cemetery also contains an unusual number of the clergy who served the Community at New Hall, as well as some pupils who had sadly died whilst at the school.
Future posts on this blog will explore the different aspects of the cemetery in more detail. Analysis of the cemetery presents a unique lens through which to view the history of the Canonesses, and will illustrate previously unexplored links between convent life at Liège and at New Hall, how the relocation affected traditions and practices, and how the Community themselves responded to these changes.
*Please note - the cemetery is not open to the public, and is located on private land within school grounds*